al-Sawād al-A’dham: Unnamed Female

Unnamed Female

cAbdullāh ibn Nāfic relates that someone came to Rabīc ibn Khuthaim in a dream and said, “So-and-so black woman is your wife in Jannah.”

Imām Rabī
c ibn Khuthaim, may Allāh have mercy on him, was a Ṭābcī and one of the top students of cAbdullāh ibn Mascūd, may Allāh be pleased with him. When he would visit Ibn Mascūd the latter would welcome him and sit him at his side. One night while he was praying, he came across the āyah, “Do those who perpetrate evils think that we will make them like those who believe and do righteous actions…” and remained stuck on it, crying bitterly until the morning. About him, Ibn Mascūd had said, “If the Messenger of Allāh ﷺ had seen you, he would have definitely loved you.”

When Rabīc awoke he asked about the woman in the dream. Someone showed him where she was. When he got to her, he found that she was grazing goats. He said to himself, “I will stay with her and see what kind of actions she does.”

For three days, he stayed with her but he didn’t see her doing anything more than what was farḍ [i.e. obligatory]. In the evening she would milk one of her goats for herself, and then milk it again, and give Rabīc some to drink. On the third day he asked, “Why don’t you give me milk from some other goat?”

She replied, “O, cAbdullāh! It doesn’t belong to me.”

Rabīc inquired, “Then why are you giving me milk from this one?”

The woman responded, “This one was given to me to drink from and give whomever I wished a drink from.”

Rabīc asked, “Do you perform any deeds besides what I saw you doing?”

“No,” The woman answered. “However, I never get up in the morning wishing that I was in some other condition, no matter what my [current] condition may be. And the evening never comes and I wish that I was in some other condition, no matter what my [current] condition may be. [This is because I am] pleased with what Allāh has allotted for me.”

Rabīc inquired, “Did you know that I saw in my dream that you were my wife in Jannah?”

The woman said, “Then you are Rabīc ibn Khuthaim.”

One of the narrators asked cAbdullāh ibn Nāfic, “How did she know this?”

He said, “Maybe she saw the same thing he saw in his dream.”4

